GMS 7950 – Fundamentals of Biomedical Science Education

Fall 2019

Section 1A58

Mondays & Wednesdays, 12:50-1:40 pm (UF period 6), room TBA

Course Director:  Wayne T. McCormack, Ph.D., CG-72K, 294-8334, mccormac at ufl.edu

DRAFT SYLLABUS

Catalog Description:  Overview of educational issues faced by biomedical scientists teaching at the undergraduate, graduate, and/or professional level.  Practical guidelines most relevant for beginning biomedical science educators, e.g. teaching skills & strategies and the underlying theory of learning & teaching.  (2 credits)

Course Overview:  Biomedical scientists are trained during graduate school and postdoctoral studies to be researchers.  However, those who pursue academic career tracks are also expected to teach, and are often not well prepared for this faculty assignment.  This elective course provides an overview of educational issues faced by biomedical scientists teaching at the undergraduate, graduate, and/or professional level.  The goal of the course is to familiarize biomedical science graduate students interested in pursuing academic career tracks with techniques that are the most relevant for beginning teachers, e.g. teaching skills & strategies and the underlying theory of learning and teaching.  The course will use a variety of teaching formats modeling teaching behaviors, and will provide practical guidelines for a variety of teaching skills.

Required text:  “McKeachie’s Teaching Tips – Strategies, Research, and Theory for College and University Teachers” by Marilla D. Svinicki & Wilbert J. McKeachie, 14th edition, Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2014.

Wed, Aug 21      Meeting a Class For the First Time

Mon, Aug 26      Listening to Learn, Teach, and Lead

Wed, Aug 28      Countdown to Course Preparation

Mon, Sep 2         No Class – Labor Day Holiday

Wed, Sep 4         Communication Skills

Mon, Sep 9         Introduction to Principles of Adult Education

Wed, Sep 11       No Class – WTM out of town

Mon, Sep 16       How to Make Lectures More Effective

Wed, Sep 18       Facilitating Discussion

Mon, Sep 23       Group-Based Learning

Wed, Sep 25       Team-Based Learning (part 1)

Mon, Sep 30       Team-Based Learning (part 2)

Wed, Oct 2         Assessing, Testing, & Evaluation

Mon, Oct 7         The ABC’s of Grading

Wed, Oct 9         Teaching as Scholarship

Mon, Oct 14       Lifelong Learning (For the Teacher, Too!)

Wed, Oct 16       Supporting Students

Mon, Oct 21       Teaching Online

Wed, Oct 23       Practice Presentations

Mon, Oct 28       Practice Presentations

Wed, Oct 30       Student Presentation

Mon, Nov 4        Student Presentation

Wed, Nov 6        Student Presentation

Mon, Nov 11      No Class – Veterans Day Holiday

Wed, Nov 13      Student Presentation

Mon, Nov 18      Student Presentation

Wed, Nov 20      Student Presentation

Mon, Nov 25      Student Presentation

Wed, Nov 27      No Class – Thanksgiving Holiday

Mon, Dec 2         Student Presentation

Wed, Dec 4         Course Debriefing

Sample topics for student presentations:

  1. Problem-Based Learning or Case-Based Learning
  2. Ethics in Teaching – The Teacher’s Responsibilities
  3. What to Do About Cheating
  4. Problem Students (There’s Almost Always at Least One!)
  5. Learning Through Writing (High Stakes & Low Stakes)
  6. Motivating Students To Learn
  7. Teaching Culturally Diverse Students
  8. Laboratory Instruction
  9. Teaching Values: Should We? Can We?
  10. Web-based teaching platforms
  11. Teaching by Distance Education
  12. Application of learning theories or learning styles
  13. Teaching Critical Thinking
  14. Approaches to Curriculum Planning
  15. Learning Styles – Are They Real?