GMS 6140 – Principles of Immunology

Spring 2018

Mon/Wed/Fri, 10:40-11:30 a.m., room TBA
Tue, 9:35-11:30 a.m., room TBA

Course Directors:  Wayne T. McCormack, PhD (e-mail mccormac at ufl.edu;  phone 294-8334;  office CG-72K)
Mark A. Wallet, PhD (email mawallet at pathology.ufl.edu);  phone 273-8164;  office J-583)

The schedule for Spring 2018 is still being finalized, but the basic schedule will be similar to this.  

Mon, Jan 8         Course Overview, Immunology History
Tue, Jan 9          Appl:  Basic Concepts in Immunology
Wed, Jan 10       Basic Principles of Immunity
Fri, Jan 12          Ig Structure/Function and Ag-Ab Interactions
Mon, Jan 15       No Class – MLK Holiday
Tue, Jan 16        Appl:  TBA
Wed, Jan 17       Generation of Receptor Diversity
Fri, Jan 19          Lymphoid Tissues and Organs
Mon, Jan 22       The Innate Immune System
Tue, Jan 23        Appl:  APCs/Innate Immunity
Wed, Jan 24       Complement
Fri, Jan 26          Cells of the Innate Immune System
Mon, Jan 29       Pattern Recognition by Innate Immunity
Tue, Jan 30        Appl:  APCs/Innate Immunity
Wed, Jan 31       Induced Innate Responses to Infection
Fri, Feb 2            NK and NKT Cells
Mon, Feb 5         Introduction to Immunogenetics & MHC
Tue, Feb 6          Appl:  APCs/Innate Immunity
Wed, Feb 7        T Lymphocyte Receptors
Fri, Feb 9           The MHC and its Proteins
Mon, Feb 12      Antigen Processing and Presentation
Tue, Feb 13       Appl:  Ag Processing/Presentation
Wed, Feb 14      Evolution of the Immune System
Thu, Feb 15       Exam 1  (7:00-10:00 pm, room TBA)

Fri, Feb 16         T Signaling Mechanisms
Mon, Feb 19      B Cell Receptors, Signaling, & Activation
Tue, Feb 20       Appl:  Lymphocyte Activation & Signaling
Wed, Feb 21      B Lymphocyte Development
Fri, Feb 23         B Lymphocyte Responses
Mon, Feb 26      Somatic Diversification of Ab Responses
Tue, Feb 27       Appl:  Humoral Immunity
Wed, Feb 28      Dendritic Cells
Fri, Mar 2           T Lymphocyte Development
Mar 5-9              No Classes – Spring Break
Mon, Mar 12      T Cell-Mediated Immunity 1
Tue, Mar 13       Appl:  T Cell-Mediated Immunity 1
Wed, Mar 14      T Cell-Mediated Immunity 2
Fri, Mar 16         T Cell Cytokines
Mon, Mar 19      Integration of Innate & Adaptive Immunity
Tue, Mar 20       Appl:  T Cell-Mediated Immunity 2
Wed, Mar 21      TNF & IFN Cytokines
Fri, Mar 23         Immune Tolerance & Reg/Suppressor T Cells
Mon, Mar 26      Immunological Memory
Tue, Mar 27       Appl:  Immunological Memory
Thu, Mar 29       Exam 2  (7:00-10:00 pm, room TBA)

Wed, Mar 2        Mucosal Immunity 1
Fri, Mar 30         Mucosal Immunity 2
Mon, Apr 2         Inborn Errors of Immunity
Tue, Apr 3          Appl:  Mucosal Immunology
Wed, Apr 4         Evasion & Subversion of Immune Defenses
Fri, Apr 6            Immunology of HIV Infection
Mon, Apr 9         Allergy & Allergic Diseases
Tue, Apr 10        Appl:  Hypersensitivity
Wed, Apr 11       Organ-Specific Autoimmunity
Fri, Apr 13          Systemic Autoimmunity
Mon, Apr 16       Genetic & Environmental Basis of Autoimmunity
Tue, Apr 17        Appl:  Autoimmunity
Wed, Apr 18       Transplantation Immunology
Fri, Apr 20          Treatment of Unwanted Immune Responses
Mon, Apr 23       Vaccines
Tue, Apr 24        Manipulation of Immune Responses
Wed, Apr 25       Cancer Immunology
Mon, Apr 30       Exam 3  (9:00 am – 12:00 noon, room TBA)

Catalog Description

Fundamental principles of basic and experimental immunology, from first engagement of innate immunity to the generation of the adaptive immune response and its clinical consequences. (4 credits)

Course Overview

This course focuses on fundamental principles of basic and experimental immunology, from first engagement of innate immunity to the generation of the adaptive immune response and its clinical consequences. It is required as a core course for PhD students in the Immunology & Microbiology concentration of the biomedical sciences PhD program, and is taught concurrently with the course GMS 6121, Infectious Disease. This course is open to other UF graduate students with consent of the course director. Weekly small group sessions (1-2 hours each) will provide students with experience in problem-solving, application of immunology principles in an experimental context, and integration of immunology & microbiology, via team-based learning and/or paper discussions.

Course Objectives

Successful will be expected to accomplish the following learning objectives.

1. Attain a working knowledge of current immunological principles related to:
    a. cell surface molecules and receptors on cells of the immune system;
b. how immune cells develop and acquire the ability to recognize antigens;
c. how immune cells interact in order to defend the body against microbes, including both innate and adaptive immunity;
d. how immune cells malfunction in autoimmunity and immunodeficiency; and
e. how the immune system may be manipulated to improve health.

2. Be able to read and discuss research papers from the current research literature in order to become familiar with experimental protocols, and develop skills in interpreting immunological data, critique of experimental designs, and formulation of new hypotheses.

3. Interpret immunological data.

4. Design immunological experiments to test a given hypothesis.

Course Material

Handouts, PowerPoint presentations, and other course material will be posted at an Canvas web site (login with Gatorlink ID and password).  All registered students will automatically be enrolled at the site during the first week of classes.

The following two textbooks are REQUIRED for Spring 2018:

Janeway’s Immunobiology, by Kenneth Murphy & Casey Weaver, Garland Science, 9th Edition

Case Studies in Immunology – A Clinical Companion, by Raif Geha & Luigi Notarangelo, Garland Science, 7th Edition


janeway9clincompanion
 

Grading

The final course grade will be based on an average of three examsFinal  grade cut-offs will be based on the final class score distribution. They will be set no higher than the following, and may be adjusted lower depending on the final score distribution.  Final % score A 90%-100%; A- 85%-89%; B+ 80%-84%; B 75%-79%; B- 70%-74%; C+ 65%-69%; C 60%-64%; C- 55%-59%.  Letter grades will affect student grade point averages according to UF grading policies.
https://catalog.ufl.edu/ugrad/current/regulations/info/grades.aspx

Academic Honesty

Students are expected to act in accordance with the University of Florida policy on academic integrity (see Student Conduct Code, the Graduate Student Handbook or these web sites for more details:  https://sccr.dso.ufl.edu/students/student-conduct-code/   http://graduateschool.ufl.edu/admissions/orientation/academic-expectations/

Cheating, lying, misrepresentation, or plagiarism in any form is unacceptable and inexcusable behavior, and will result in a score of zero for the assignment and reporting to the UF Dean of Students Office.  We, the members of the University of Florida community, pledge to hold ourselves and our peers to the highest standards of honesty and integrity.

Class Attendance

Students are expected to read all assignments prior to class, and to be prepared to attend and participate in all sessions. Personal issues with respect to class attendance or participation will be handled on an individual basis.

Exam or Other Work Make-up

Make-up assignments will be provided for excused absences from paper discussions and team-based learning sessions, and must be completed by mutually agreed upon dates. Alternate dates will be arranged for exams with excused absences or extenuating circumstances (e.g., child care issues in the evening).

Accommodations for Students with Disabilities

Students with disabilities requesting accommodations should first register with the Disability Resource Center (352-392-8565, www.dso.ufl.edu/drc/) by providing appropriate documentation. Once registered, students will receive an accommodation letter which must be presented to the instructor when requesting accommodations. Students with disabilities should follow this procedure as early as possible in the semester.

Counseling and Student Health

Students may occasionally have personal issues that arise in the course of pursuing higher education or that may interfere with their academic performance. If you find yourself facing problems affecting your coursework, you are encouraged to talk with an instructor and to seek confidential assistance at the UF Counseling & Wellness Center, 352-392-1575. Visit their web site for more information: (http://www.counseling.ufl.edu/cwc/, see also link therein for Emergency Assistance). Crisis intervention is always available 24/7 from the Alachua County Crisis Center at (352) 264-6789. Do not wait until you reach a crisis to come in and talk with us. We have helped many students through stressful situations impacting their academic performance. You are not alone, so do not be afraid to ask for assistance.