GMS 7950 – Fundamentals of Biomedical Science Education

Fall 2017, Mondays & Wednesdays, 1:00-2:00 pm, room CG-72A

Course Director:  Wayne T. McCormack, Ph.D., CG-72K, 294-8334, mccormac@ufl.edu

DRAFT SYLLABUS as of 7/25/17

Please note new course number!  This course was previously listed as GMS 7001, and is now GMS 7950.

Catalog Description:  Overview of educational issues faced by biomedical scientists teaching at the undergraduate, graduate, and/or professional level.  Practical guidelines most relevant for beginning biomedical science educators, e.g. teaching skills & strategies and the underlying theory of learning & teaching.  (2 credits)

Course Overview:  Biomedical scientists are trained during graduate school and postdoctoral studies to be researchers.  However, those who pursue academic career tracks are also expected to teach, and are often not well prepared for this faculty assignment.  This elective course provides an overview of educational issues faced by biomedical scientists teaching at the undergraduate, graduate, and/or professional level.  The goal of the course is to familiarize biomedical science graduate students interested in pursuing academic career tracks with techniques that are the most relevant for beginning teachers, e.g. teaching skills & strategies and the underlying theory of learning and teaching.  The course will use a variety of teaching formats modeling teaching behaviors, and will provide practical guidelines for a variety of teaching skills.

Required text:  “McKeachie’s Teaching Tips – Strategies, Research, and Theory for College and University Teachers” by Marilla D. Svinicki & Wilbert J. McKeachie, 14th edition, Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2014.

Mon, Aug 21      Meeting a Class For the First Time

Wed, Aug 23      Listening to Learn, Teach, and Lead

Mon, Aug 28      Communication Skills

Wed, Aug 30      Introduction to Principles of Adult Education

Mon, Sep 4         No Class – Labor Day Holiday

Wed, Sep 6         No Class – WTM out of town

Mon, Sep 11         Adult Learning Cycle and Learning Styles

Wed, Sep 13       Countdown for Course Preparation

Mon, Sep 18       How to Make Lectures More Effective

Wed, Sep 20       Facilitating Discussion

Mon, Sep 25       Team-Based Learning (part 1)

Wed, Sep 27      Team-Based Learning (part 2)

Mon, Oct 2          Group-Based Learning

Wed, Oct 4          Assessing, Testing, & Evaluation

Mon, Oct 9          The ABC’s of Grading

Wed, Oct 11       Teaching as Scholarship

Mon, Oct 16       Lifelong Learning (For the Teacher, Too!)

Wed, Oct 18       Practice Presentations

Mon, Oct 23       No Class – WTM out of town

Wed, Oct 25      Practice Presentations

Mon, Oct 30       Practice Presentations

Wed, Nov 1        Student Presentation

Mon, Nov 6        Student Presentation

Wed, Nov 8        Student Presentation

Mon, Nov 13      Student Presentation

Wed, Nov 15      Student Presentation

Mon, Nov 20      Student Presentation

Wed, Nov 22      No Class – Thanksgiving Holiday

Mon, Nov 27      Student Presentation

Wed, Nov 29      Student Presentation

Mon, Dec 4         Student Presentation

Wed, Dec 6         Course Debriefing

Sample topics for student presentations:

  1. Problem-Based Learning or Case-Based Learning
  2. Ethics in Teaching – The Teacher’s Responsibilities
  3. What to Do About Cheating
  4. Problem Students (There’s Almost Always at Least One!)
  5. Learning Through Writing (High Stakes & Low Stakes)
  6. Motivating Students To Learn
  7. Teaching Culturally Diverse Students
  8. Laboratory Instruction
  9. Teaching Values: Should We? Can We?
  10. Web-based teaching platforms
  11. Teaching by Distance Education
  12. Application of learning theories or learning styles
  13. Teaching Critical Thinking
  14. Approaches to Curriculum Planning